Thursday, February 26, 2009

Fairness Doctrine Prohibited

Today the Senate adopted an amendment to the DC voting rights bill offered by Senator DeMint and other GOP Senators that would prohibit the Federal Communications comm. from reinstating the Fairness Doctrine that was abolished in the late 1980s. The so-called Broadcasters Freedom Act in the form of the DeMint amendment., was supported today by 46 members of the Democratic side of the United States Senate chamber. The vote to support the DeMint amendment was 87 to 11. This action is welcome news for those who fear the reinstatement of the Fairness doctrine in various forms via the FCC. This strong vote should be a indication that if the FCC were to try to impose various versions of a fairness doctrine through programming limitations and the such, that those 46 Senators, both Democratic and Independent, will once again support overturning those such regs if they do in fact take shape later in the Congress.

The 11 Democratic and Independent Senators that did not support the DeMint amendments are: Bingaman (D-NM), Conrad (D-ND),Dorgan (D-ND),Feinstein (D-CA),Harkin (D-IA),Johnson (D-SD),Kerry (D-MA),Reed (D-RI), Rockefeller (D-WV),Sanders (I-VT), Whitehouse (D-RI)

No comments:

Support free speech

Join us on these social networks:






Got a question?

Read the FAQ here

Paid for by, an organization focused primarily on nonpartisan education and advocacy on the issue of free speech and other important civil rights. is a 501(c)(4) organization.

Donations are not tax deductible as charitable contributions.